September Book Reviews

Book Review

  • Books read: 4
  • Pages: 1,104

The month of September was sort of a sad, disappointing month for me in regards to reading. You know how you have ‘blah’ days, I somewhat had a ‘blah’ months of books.  I found myself with little ‘free’ time, and a lot of non-fiction/self-help type of books- which I generally try to read sparingly, but kept popping up from my library hold list. I did read one really good one though, that was unexpected, and I listed it first for you:

1. Rust and Sawdust – T. Greenwood

rust

My Rating: 4.0/5.0 Stars

This book was so addicting and surprising.  It is the true story of a girl named Sally Horner and her abductor, Frank LaSalle.  (it was mentioned in the book/movie Lolita – about Sally Horner… I have not read that book or didn’t know about it, but some may find that name familiar)  This book was based in the late 40’s and through the 50’s, telling the story of a young girl who is manipulated by a sexual predator that was released from prison.  This story was so well-written, just told this story from not only Sally’s point of view, but her mother and sister’s.  It is heart-breaking, frustrating, scary, sad – but so beautifully told to honor this sweet girl.  I found it especially heart-breaking when I could look online and find the picture of the real Sally Horner, and reminding myself this is not a book on fiction, but based on her life.

2. Girl, Wash Your Face – Rachel Hollis

girlwash

My Rating: 3.2/5.0

Alright, this was most definitely the most talked about/posted about book this summer.  I saw so many people posting themselves reading it, quoting it and I was not familiar with Rachel Hollis and her work prior to the book – but I was eager to see what the fuss was all about.  I was let down.  I found her tone pretty condescending and sliding over into arrogant.  I appreciated her girl-power, you can do it attitude but did not connect with her ‘trying to hard to connect with people’ writing style.  There are just so many other good books that left me inspired and I felt annoyed by the end.  If you are a Christian, looking to find some inspiration, connection, and empowerment – I recommend the book below:

3. Your Best Yes- Lysa Terkeurst

Thebestyes

My Rating: 3.8/5.0

I received this recommendation from a co-worker when I was talking about how I was feeling pressed for free time, and needing to get some tasks completed for a church commitment I had.  This book does a great job – walking you through making the best decisions for YOU, getting to what you want, and it’s hard to describe, but I appreciated her wisdom, insights and personal examples.  While both this book and the one previously listed, have similar principles, I connected with this better and her reference to scripture.  I found myself highlighting several passages, and written in my ‘quote journal’ (my beloved book I have had for 20+ years collecting inspirational quotes, thoughts, or just something that touched me that I want to remember)

4. The Terrible: A Storyteller’s Memoir

terrible

My Rating: 2.5/5.0

You guys, I just don’t really even know what this book was about.  I mean overall,  I understand it was a memoir, and written in a poetic prose (which is what intrigued me and drew me in to try something different) The short length of the book also wasn’t too intimidating – however, it fell short for me.  I found some of her relationships with her mother, herself, her brother quite profound, but I just couldn’t connect with it overall and what I could walk away with, or gain from reading it.  Sorry, just didn’t do it for me.

Alright – what else have you all read lately that you recommend?!  I am already LOVING my current read in October and excited to post about that soon…

2 thoughts on “September Book Reviews

  1. I also recently read a memoir in something like poetic prose and ended up missing out on half of what it was about, it seemed like. Such a disappointment. Hope your October reading is much better!

    Like

Leave a comment